(review) The Lost Boys by Lilian Carmine

17612776The Lost Boys by Lilian Carmine
Series: The Lost Boys #1
Release date: January 1st 2014
Publisher: Random House UK
Pages: 395 (via Readmill)
Source: Netgalley (ebook)

An intensely addictive romance novel about girls, ghosts, and forbidden love, ideal for fans of Stephenie Meyer
Fate has brought them together. But will it also keep them apart? Having moved to a strange town, 17-year-old Joey Gray is feeling a little lost, until she meets a cute, mysterious boy near her new home. But there’s a very good reason why Tristan Halloway is always to be found roaming in the local graveyard. Perfect for fans of Stephenie Meyer and Lauren Kate, The Lost Boys is a magical, romantic tale of girl meets ghost.



Ghost and human love story had always been a big no no for me. Why? Because it always ends with a goodbye. You think romance between vampire and human is impossible? You can turn the human into immortal, but you can't turn someone into a ghost without killing the human. The only way it could work is to revive the ghost back into human. And that is impossible, until now. (wait, is this considered a spoiler?)

Reading The Lost Boys was the right decision for me. And I promise you, it was nothing like Twilight. The story was about Joe and Tristan. And no, it's not MxM romance. Joe is a girl with a guys name, hilarious. It starts off with Joe being lost at a grave yard somehow and then she met this gorgeous old fashioned boy named Tristan. Tristan was incredibly charming, yet super weird. He would touch Joe and he was almost always there when Joe visits the grave yard. Soon the grave yard became their favorite place to be. And then one night, everything goes wrong. I won't give you any further spoiler so if you want to know more you should go read it by your self, you should read it.

The thing I love about this book is the characters. If I had the chance to be inside a novel, this would be it. Joe's new friends was really sweet that I couldn't contain my sighs, they are truly the best friends you could ask for. And Tristan, he made a really stupid decision once but other than that he was also the best boyfriend you could ask for. Super 5 stars for the characters!!! The writing style is also awesome. Everything was explained really well. I can't even say more, you should totally read this. Well, there are several cheesy stuffs here and there so if you totally hate those stuffs, don't listen to me. And if you're thinking that Joe is anything like Bella Swan, she's not. Joe is one of the bravest heroines I've met. She cried at some point, but not that much that it should be considered whinny. She's brown belt in Aikido and Yellow belt in karate for God's sake!

Enough said, totally recommended for those who love young adult paranormal romance spiced with a bad-ass heroine. Love Love Love! (now with additional Love)

Rating:
5 EYES OPEN (5/5)

8 comments:

  1. Nice review! I admit to be skeptical about this one. I requested and received it, but then I heard so not so good things about it and became hesitant. I only continued to hear more unsavory remarks about it, so I still remain a bit hesitant on this one.

    I do love a good ghost romance. I've read a small amount and one where it even ended happily for said ghost and full alive human couple. So I know all things are possible. Might continue to debate on this one, but glad to hear you enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lucky you! this is the first happy ending on a ghost romance for me. Everyone had their own opinion for everything, and I thought you should try this out!

      I should warn you though, that there are several or more cheesy lines in this book. If you're not into those kinds of things, then you won't enjoy this book as much as I do. And perhaps several other stuffs that other would dislike that I could't think off... (I'm ok with the whole package)

      Hope you would enjoy it too!

      Delete
  2. So glad you enjoyed. I couldn't get into it personally, Good to know that she becomes really kick ass

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm sorry it didn't work out for you :-( For me, Joe was more kick ass inside rather than outside, I mean how she chose to stand and try harder when she was faced with a conflict was cool. And if you read the deleted scenes, you should find her standing up for her friends, that was really brave and thus I thought she was bad ass. But again everyone had their own definition of kick ass/ bad ass, some people might not see Joe as kick ass, but I do ;-)

      Delete
  3. Whoa this sounds interesting :D I'm make sure to add it in my TBR. Also, I nominated your for the Liebster Award, check it out here http://sparereads.blogspot.com/2014/01/liebster-award.html

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. you should try it out! and that is so nice of you! will post as soon as I can!

      Delete
  4. I am always intrigued by 5 star ratings! I will have to add it to my TBR list

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hope you enjoyed it as much as I do! :-)

      Delete

Share your thoughts!

© FELI DERU. Powered by Blogger.